How to invite users and manage your team
This article explains how to add users to your projects as well as manage their roles and permissions. Before proceeding with the next section, we would highly recommend our users to look over this article to help them get started with Freedcamp in the best way possible.
There are two ways to manage users in Freedcamp: from the People page and from the Manage System page.
note: If you're on the free plan, or have a free trial, the number of invites you can send is limited to 10. Once some users accept, these restrictions will lessen. We do this to stop people from using us to send spam.
The People Page
To access the people page, go to the Projects Dashboard, click on your project’s settings icon and select Edit Project.
You can also access the People page from your project’s Tasks page in List view.
You will be able to add the new user’s email address(1) and a personal message(2). To simplify the process, you can connect your Google contacts(3) or invite multiple users at once(4).
The People page also allows you to see global teams and already invited users for that project. You can change the permission level of a global team or a user by clicking the dropdown menu next to their name(1). To remove a user, click the [X] button(2).
The Manage System page
You can access the Manage System page by clicking your user icon in the top-menu and selecting Manage System(1).
The Users section(1) allows you to see and manage all the users in that project group, including Project Group Administrators(2). You can add a user to projects in that project group by clicking on the [+] button(3) next to the Project Group Users section.
Permission levels help you choose what your projects’ users are allowed to do. They can be set when inviting a user, or modified from the Manage System page.
Below is a summary of each permission level, and a video that goes into detail on how to manage them.
Guest and Read-Only - the only free permissions, usually used for clients who only need to observe and in the case of guests, also participate in discussions.
User - they can create items and edit and delete them
Pro User - they can create items as well as edit and delete items created by other people
Project Administrator - they can edit a project, manage users and project apps
Project Group Administrator - they can create projects in a group and manage group apps
Global teams are a way to easily add people to projects. Let’s say you have a group of clients that need to observe multiple projects. You create a Clients global team, then add the team to all the projects they have to observe with a permission level of Guest.
As an owner, you can manage Global Teams by going to Manage System, then to the Global Teams section. You will be able to create teams(1), edit and delete existing teams(2), add members(3) and manage what projects a team is part of and their permission level for each project(4).
Owners, Project Group Administrators and Project Administrators are the only permission levels that can invite users to projects. All three of these can also see global teams. But only owners can manage them and see the Global Teams section(1). Project Group Administrators and Project Administrators can see them if they click on the Invite Global Team button(2). They can then see all the teams and see a team's members if they hover over the team's name(3).
We've recently added a Global Users section to the Manage System page(not to be confused with the Global Teams section). It lets you see and manage users across all of the projects that you own. When clicking the [...] icon next to a user, you have the following options:
1. Manage Projects: this allows you to see all projects the user is part of(including the permission level), and add and remove them from projects.
2. Change Role(Global): changes the user's permission level across all projects. Can be helpful on our paid plans when you want to make a user non-billable(Guest/Read-Only).
3. Remove from all project groups.